Father’s Day – Battle of Britain

Wellington Bomber in the Distance

Wellington Bomber in the Distance

This I just had to add.

Yesterday was Father’s Day in the UK so we went off for a walk around Carsington Water with my daughter and grandson.

Whilst we were sitting having our sandwiches for lunch in the middle of a field, there was this dull rumbling and overhead went the Wellington Bomber of the Battle of Britain Memorial flight followed moments later by the Spitfire and Hurricane.

I challenge any child over the age of about thirty (in which I include myself) not to be in awe of these fantastic machines. The reason that all you’ve got is a relatively small dot far away is because by the time my brain had got into gear and my jaw un-dropped, the camera out and pointed, it had flown off into the distance.

It had me completely enthralled, I don’t think I’ve been more impressed by something like this since my dad took me to Farnborough Airshow when I was nine or ten and a Vulcan bomber did a low pass and afterburner climb away.

Cherry on the top of a wonderful day.

About PelicanPlants

Growing tomatoes and other vegetables in a greenhouse and at an allotment.
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.