May in the Garden

The garden has brightened up, the weather is sunny more often and all of a sudden there’s a plethora of flowers making themselves known. So I took my trusty camera into the garden and took some pictures of the colours and shapes in the garden and thought I would share them with you.

I find it amazing how simple flowers give bright colours even in deep shade. I love springtime.

However, what I’m less happy about are the insects and beasts that attack our fruits, vegetables and flowers. We’ve spent more time than I would like hunting out things to kill off and to stop them eating the things we want to grow. Wouldn’t it be nice if you could say to them – look, we’ve grown these because we want them but you can have all of these over here! – but you can’t.

So here are some pests, lily beetles eating the fritalaria and other lilies, and lots of things stripping the leaves off the gooseberries.

But then we get some good things

The results of dipping in our pond and inspecting the greenhouse

About PelicanPlants

Growing tomatoes and other vegetables in a greenhouse and at an allotment.
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.